Skip to Main Content

Ceramics CMRG

Ceramics CMRG

Consortium Lead: Prof. Richard Haber (Rutgers)

CCDC ARL Lead: Dr. Jerry LaSalvia

Model Material: Boron Carbide

Boron carbide is the model material for the Ceramics CMRG because it has the unrealized potential of dramatic improvements in ballistic performance for vehicular protection at very low weight. The Ceramics CMRG seeks to understand and control the dynamic failure processes in this protective ceramic material and to improve its dynamic performance by controlling mechanisms at the atomic and microstructural levels through multiscale modeling, advanced powder synthesis, control of polytypes, and microstructural improvements.

Application: Boron carbide is one of the component materials used to protect soldiers and military vehicles from blast and ballistic threats.

Current Consortium Research
  • Atomic-Resolution Characterization of Boron Icosahedra Ceramics (Harmer and Marvel, Lehigh)
  • Canonical Experiments for the Ceramics CMRG using HyFIRE (Ramesh, JHU)
  • Experiments on High-Rate Granular Flow in Boron Carbide (Ramesh, JHU)
  • Granular flow transitions and parameter sensitivities in the integrative model to guide materials by design (Graham-Brady, JHU)
  • High-Strain-Rate Experiments on CMRG Boron Carbide Materials and BC crystals (Ramesh, JHU)
  • Integrative Modeling subtask (distributed over all 3 mechanisms) (Ramesh, JHU)
  • Investigation of Amorphization and Quasi-Plasticity Mechanisms in Boron Carbide (Haber, Rutgers)
  • Materials Synthesis and Processing Integrative Task (Haber, Rutgers)
  • TEM Characterization of Quasiplasticy in Boron Carbide (Hemker, JHU)

Group Members
Consortium PIs
Prof. Lori Graham-Brady, JHU
Prof. Rich Haber, Rutgers
Prof. Martin Harmer, Lehigh
Prof. Kevin Hemker, JHU
Dr. Chris Marvel, Lehigh
Prof. KT Ramesh, JHU
Prof. Mark Robbins, JHU


CCDC ARL Collaborators
Dr. Richard Becker
Dr. Kristopher Behler
Dr. Shawn Coleman
Dr. George Gazonas
Dr. Matthew Guziewski
Dr. Efrain Hernandez
Dr. Nicholas Ku
Dr. Jerry LaSalvia
Mr. Brian Leavy
Dr. Jonathan Ligda
Dr. Jason McDonald
Dr. Christopher Meredith
Dr. Brian Schuster
Dr. Taylor Shoulders
Dr. Jeffrey Swab
Dr. Jennifer Synowczynski-Dunn
Dr. Andrew Tonge
Dr. Lionel Vargas-Gonzalez
Dr. Scott Walck
Dr. N. Scott Weingarten
Dr. Cyril Williams