Magnesium Workshop: Alloys & Lightweight Structural Systems

This two-day, invitation-only workshop on Magnesium will focus on critical scientific, engineering, and processing challenges for implementing Mg alloys into lightweight structural systems. The workshop will focus on recent developments and the current challenges in Mg research.

This workshop is organized in partnership with the Materials in Extreme Dynamics Environments (MEDE) consortium, which is a collaborative research alliance between Johns Hopkins University, California Institute of Technology, Rutgers University, University of Delaware, and the US Army Research Laboratory.

The workshop will be divided into four half-day tracks focusing on: Processing, Experiments, Modeling & Simulations, and Design. There will be three to four talks in each track followed by a panel discussion comprised of the speakers and led by an invited prominent expert in each track. All invited speakers are key researchers from approximately ten of the major Mg research groups in the world, including Australia, Germany, Japan, Korea, and the US. A poster session will be organized in conjunction with the invited talks to facilitate further discussions and exchange of ideas.

If you are interested in attending please email Katie Vaught, [email protected]. All requests will be reviewed and approved by the steering committee and invitations sent by mid-February. A roomblock is available at the Colonnade listed as Magnesium Workshop.

This Magnesium Workshop will be held from Monday, May 20 to Tuesday, April 4th, 2017. Click here for the full agenda.

Campus Map (The star on the right side of the map indicates the Colonnade)

Directions from BWI

Confirmed Speakers

Session I: Experiments
Sean Agnew, Univ. of Virginia, USA
Taisuke Sasaki, NIMS, Japan
Jianfeng Nie, Monash Univ., Australia
Tim Weihs, JHU, USA
Session III: Modeling and Simulation
Kaushik Bhattacharya, Caltech, USA
Dallas Trinkle, UIUC, USA
Irene Beyerlein, UCSB, USA
Christopher Barrett, Mississippi State Univ., USA
Session II: Processing
Dietmar Letzig, Helmholtz-Zentrum
Geesthacht, Germany
Byeongchan Suh, NIMS, Japan
Laszlo Kecskes, ARL, USA
Session IV: Design
Alan Taub, Univ. of Michigan, USA
Alan Luo, Ohio State Univ., USA
Zi-Kui Liu, Pennsylvania State Univ., USA
Norbert Hort, Helmholtz-Zentrum
Geesthacht, Germany

Workshop Steering Committee

Chair: Jaafar El-Awady, JHU
Co-Chair: Laszlo Kecskes, ARL
Tim Weihs, JHU
K.T. Ramesh, JHU
Lori Graham-Brady, JHU
John Beatty, ARL